

#### GROUP INSURANCE POLICY NON-PARTICIPATING

**POLICYHOLDER:** Petersburg Borough

**POLICY NUMBER:** 939758 001

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2023

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1

#### **GOVERNING JURISDICTION:** Alaska

Unum Life Insurance Company of America (referred to as Unum) will provide benefits under this policy. Unum makes this promise subject to all of this policy's provisions.

The policyholder should read this policy carefully and contact Unum promptly with any questions. This policy is delivered in and is governed by the laws of the governing jurisdiction and to the extent applicable by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) and any amendments. This policy consists of:

- a copy of the Policyholder's application for Group Insurance;
- all policy provisions and any amendments and/or attachments issued;
- employees' signed applications; and
- the certificate of coverage.

This policy may be changed in whole or in part. Only an officer or a registrar of Unum can approve a change. The approval must be in writing and endorsed on or attached to this policy. No other person, including an agent, may change this policy or waive any part of it.

Signed for Unum at Portland, Maine on the Policy Effective Date.

method

President

MIM

Secretary

Unum Life Insurance Company of America 2211 Congress Street Portland, Maine 04122

## TABLE OF CONTENTS

BENEFITS AT A GLANCE	B@G-LIFE-1
LIFE INSURANCE PLAN	B@G-LIFE-1
BENEFITS AT A GLANCE	B@G-AD&D-1
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE PLAN	B@G-AD&D-1
CLAIM INFORMATION	LIFE-CLM-1
LIFE INSURANCE	LIFE-CLM-1
CLAIM INFORMATION	AD&D-CLM-1
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE	AD&D-CLM-1
POLICYHOLDER PROVISIONS	EMPLOYER-1
CERTIFICATE SECTION	CC.FP-1
GENERAL PROVISIONS	EMPLOYEE-1
LIFE INSURANCE	LIFE-BEN-1
BENEFIT INFORMATION	LIFE-BEN-1
OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES	LIFE-OTR-1
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE	AD&D-BEN-1
BENEFIT INFORMATION	AD&D-BEN-1
OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES	AD&D-OTR-1
GLOSSARY	GLOSSARY-1

# **BENEFITS AT A GLANCE**

#### LIFE INSURANCE PLAN

This life insurance plan provides financial protection for your beneficiary(ies) by paying a benefit in the event of your death. The amount your beneficiary(ies) receive(s) is based on the amount of coverage in effect just prior to the date of your death according to the terms and provisions of the plan.

#### EMPLOYER'S ORIGINAL PLAN EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2023

**POLICY NUMBER:** 939758 001

#### ELIGIBLE GROUP(S):

All Eligible Employees in active employment in the United States with the Employer

#### MINIMUM HOURS REQUIREMENT:

Employees must be working at least 20 hours per week.

#### WAITING PERIOD:

For employees in an eligible group on or before July 1, 2023: First of the month coincident with or next following 30 days of continuous active employment

For employees entering an eligible group after July 1, 2023: First of the month coincident with or next following 30 days of continuous active employment

#### **REHIRE:**

If your employment ends and you are rehired within 1 year, your previous work while in an eligible group will apply toward the waiting period. All other policy provisions apply.

#### WAIVE THE WAITING PERIOD:

If you have been continuously employed by your Employer for a period of time equal to your waiting period, Unum will waive your waiting period when you enter an eligible group.

#### WHO PAYS FOR THE COVERAGE:

Your Employer pays the cost of your coverage.

#### **ELIMINATION PERIOD:**

Premium Waiver: 9 months

Disability-based benefits begin the day after Unum approves your claim and the elimination period is completed.

#### LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT:

#### AMOUNT OF LIFE INSURANCE FOR YOU

\$10,000

AMOUNT OF LIFE INSURANCE AVAILABLE IF YOU BECOME INSURED AT CERTAIN AGES OR HAVE REACHED CERTAIN AGES WHILE INSURED

If you have reached age 65, but not age 70, your amount of life insurance will be:

- 65% of the amount of life insurance you had prior to age 65; or

- 65% of the amount of life insurance shown above if you become insured on or after age 65 but before age 70.

There will be no further increases in your amount of life insurance.

If you have reached age 70 or more, your amount of life insurance will be:

- 50% of the amount of life insurance you had prior to your first reduction; or
- 50% of the amount of life insurance shown above if you become insured on or after age 70.

There will be no further increases in your amount of life insurance.

#### SOME LOSSES MAY NOT BE COVERED UNDER THIS PLAN.

#### **OTHER FEATURES:**

Accelerated Benefit

Conversion

Continuity of Coverage

Portability

The above items are only highlights of this plan. For a full description of your coverage, continue reading your certificate of coverage section. The plan includes enrollment, risk management and other support services related to your Employer's Benefit Program.

## **BENEFITS AT A GLANCE**

#### ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE PLAN

This accidental death and dismemberment insurance plan provides financial protection for your beneficiary(ies) by paying a benefit in the event of your death or for you in the event of any other covered loss. The amount you or your beneficiary(ies) receive(s) is based on the amount of coverage in effect just prior to the date of your death or any other covered loss according to the terms and provisions of the plan.

#### EMPLOYER'S ORIGINAL PLAN

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2023

**POLICY NUMBER:** 939758 001

#### ELIGIBLE GROUP(S):

All Eligible Employees in active employment in the United States with the Employer

#### MINIMUM HOURS REQUIREMENT:

Employees must be working at least 20 hours per week.

#### WAITING PERIOD:

For employees in an eligible group on or before July 1, 2023: First of the month coincident with or next following 30 days of continuous active employment

For employees entering an eligible group after July 1, 2023: First of the month coincident with or next following 30 days of continuous active employment

#### **REHIRE:**

If your employment ends and you are rehired within 1 year, your previous work while in an eligible group will apply toward the waiting period. All other policy provisions apply.

#### WAIVE THE WAITING PERIOD:

If you have been continuously employed by your Employer for a period of time equal to your waiting period, Unum will waive your waiting period when you enter an eligible group.

#### WHO PAYS FOR THE COVERAGE:

Your Employer pays the cost of your coverage.

#### ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT BENEFIT:

# AMOUNT OF ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE FOR YOU (FULL AMOUNT)

\$10,000

AMOUNT OF ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE AVAILABLE IF YOU BECOME INSURED AT CERTAIN AGES OR HAVE REACHED CERTAIN AGES WHILE INSURED

If you have reached age 65, but not age 70, your amount of AD&D insurance will be:

- 65% of the amount of AD&D insurance you had prior to age 65; or
- 65% of the amount of AD&D insurance shown above if you become insured on or after age 65 but before age 70.

There will be no further increases in your amount of AD&D insurance.

If you have reached age 70 or more, your amount of AD&D insurance will be:

- 50% of the amount of AD&D insurance you had prior to your first reduction; or

- 50% of the amount of AD&D insurance shown above if you become insured on or after age 70.

There will be no further increases in your amount of AD&D insurance.

#### **REPATRIATION BENEFIT FOR YOU**

Maximum Benefit Amount:

Up to \$5,000

The Repatriation Benefit is separate from any accidental death and dismemberment benefit which may be payable. To receive the Repatriation Benefit, your accidental death benefit must be paid first.

#### SEATBELT(S) AND AIR BAG BENEFIT FOR YOU

Benefit Amount:

Seatbelt(s): 10% of the Full Amount of your accidental death and dismemberment insurance benefit.

Air Bag: 5% of the Full Amount of your accidental death and dismemberment insurance benefit.

Maximum Benefit Payment:

Seatbelt(s): \$25,000

Air bag: \$5,000

The Seatbelt(s) and Air Bag Benefit is separate from any accidental death and dismemberment benefit which may be payable. To receive the Seatbelt(s) and Air Bag Benefit, your accidental death benefit must be paid first.

#### EDUCATION BENEFIT

Each Qualified Child

Benefit Amount per Academic Year for which a Qualified Child is enrolled:

6% of the Full Amount of the employee's accidental death and dismemberment insurance to a maximum of \$6,000.

Maximum Benefit Payments:

4 per lifetime

Maximum Benefit Amount:

\$24,000

Maximum Benefit Period:

6 years from the date the first benefit payment has been made.

The Education Benefit is separate from any accidental death and dismemberment benefit which may be payable. In order for your Qualified Child to receive the Education Benefit, your accidental death benefit must be paid first.

#### COMMON CARRIER BENEFIT

Maximum Benefit:

The Full Amount

The Common Carrier Benefit is separate from any accidental death and dismemberment benefit which may be payable. To receive the Common Carrier benefit your accidental death benefit must be paid first.

#### EXPOSURE AND DISAPPEARANCE BENEFIT FOR YOU

Maximum Benefit Amount:

The Full Amount

#### **CHILD CARE BENEFIT**

Each Qualified Child

Annual Benefit Amount:

Birth through age 13

The lesser of:

- 5% of the Full Amount of your or your spouse's accidental death and dismemberment insurance; or

- \$3,000

Maximum Benefit Amount:

\$12,000

Maximum Benefit Period:

4 consecutive years

If, at the time of your or your spouse's death, you have no Qualified Child eligible for the Child Care Benefit, we will pay 5% of the Full Amount to a maximum benefit of \$2,000 to you, your spouse, your beneficiary or your or your spouse's authorized representative.

The Child Care Benefit is separate from any accidental death and dismemberment benefit which may be payable. In order for your Qualified Child to receive the Child Care Benefit, your or your spouse's accidental death benefit must be paid first.

This benefit will only be paid once per accident, even if you and your spouse suffers an injury in the same accident

#### SOME LOSSES MAY NOT BE COVERED UNDER THIS PLAN.

#### **OTHER FEATURES:**

Portability

Continuity of Coverage is available under this plan - refer to the **ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** for further details.

The above items are only highlights of this plan. For a full description of your coverage, continue reading your certificate of coverage section. The plan includes enrollment, risk management and other support services related to your Employer's Benefit Program.

## **CLAIM INFORMATION**

## LIFE INSURANCE

# WHEN DO YOU OR YOUR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE NOTIFY UNUM OF A CLAIM?

We encourage you or your authorized representative to notify us as soon as possible, so that a claim decision can be made in a timely manner.

If a claim is based on your disability, written notice and proof of claim must be sent no later than 90 days after the end of the elimination period.

If a claim is based on death, written notice and proof of claim must be sent no later than 90 days after the date of death.

If it is not possible to give proof within these time limits, it must be given no later than 1 year after the proof is required as specified above. These time limits will not apply during any period you or your authorized representative lacks the legal capacity to give us proof of claim.

The claim form is available from your Employer, or you or your authorized representative can request a claim form from us. If you or your authorized representative does not receive the form from Unum within 15 days of the request, send Unum written proof of claim without waiting for the form.

If you have a disability, you must notify us immediately when you return to work in any capacity, regardless of whether you are working for your Employer.

#### HOW DO YOU FILE A CLAIM FOR A DISABILITY?

You or your authorized representative, and your Employer must fill out your own sections of the claim form and then give it to your attending physician. Your physician should fill out his or her section of the form and send it directly to Unum.

#### WHAT INFORMATION IS NEEDED AS PROOF OF YOUR CLAIM?

If your claim is based on your disability, your proof of claim, provided at your expense, must show:

- that you are under the regular care of a physician;
- the date your disability began;
- the cause of your disability;
- the extent of your disability, including restrictions and limitations preventing you from performing your regular occupation or any gainful occupation; and
- the name and address of any **hospital or institution** where you received treatment, including all attending physicians.

We may request that you send proof of continuing disability indicating that you are under the regular care of a physician. This proof, provided at your expense, must be received within 45 days of a request by us. If claim is based on death, proof of claim, provided at your or your authorized representative's expense, must show the cause of death. Also a certified copy of the death certificate must be given to us.

In some cases, you will be required to give Unum authorization to obtain additional medical and non-medical information as part of your proof of claim or proof of continuing disability. Unum will deny your claim if the appropriate information is not submitted.

### WHEN CAN UNUM REQUEST AN AUTOPSY?

In the case of death, Unum will have the right and opportunity to request an autopsy where not forbidden by law.

# HOW DO YOU DESIGNATE OR CHANGE A BENEFICIARY? (Beneficiary Designation)

At the time you become insured, you should name a beneficiary on your enrollment form for your death benefits under your life insurance. You may change your beneficiary at any time by filing a form approved by Unum with your Employer. The new beneficiary designation will be effective as of the date you sign that form. However, if we have taken any action or made any payment before your Employer receives that form, that change will not go into effect.

It is important that you name a beneficiary and keep your designation current. If more than one beneficiary is named and you do not designate their order or share of payments, the beneficiaries will share equally. The share of a beneficiary who dies before you, or the share of a beneficiary who is disqualified, will pass to any surviving beneficiaries in the order you designated.

If you do not name a beneficiary, or if all named beneficiaries do not survive you, or if your named beneficiary is disqualified, your death benefit will be paid to your estate.

Instead of making a death payment to your estate, Unum has the right to make payment to the first surviving family members of the family members in the order listed below:

- spouse;
- child or children;
- mother or father; or
- sisters or brothers.

If we are to make payments to a beneficiary who lacks the legal capacity to give us a release, Unum may pay up to \$2,000 to the person or institution that appears to have assumed the custody and main support of the beneficiary. This payment made in good faith satisfies Unum's legal duty to the extent of that payment and Unum will not have to make payment again.

Also, at Unum's option, we may pay up to \$1,000 to the person or persons who, in our opinion, have incurred expenses for your last sickness and death.

## HOW WILL UNUM MAKE PAYMENTS?

If your life claim is at least \$10,000, Unum will make available to the beneficiary a **retained asset account** (the Unum Security Account).

Payment for the life claim may be accessed by writing a draft in a single sum or drafts in smaller sums. The funds for the draft or drafts are fully guaranteed by Unum.

If the life claim is less than \$10,000, Unum will pay it in one lump sum to your beneficiary.

Also, your beneficiary may request the life claim to be paid according to one of Unum's other settlement options. This request must be in writing in order to be paid under Unum's other settlement options.

## WHAT HAPPENS IF UNUM OVERPAYS YOUR CLAIM?

Unum has the right to recover any overpayments due to:

- fraud; and
- any error Unum makes in processing a claim.

You must reimburse us in full. We will determine the method by which the repayment is to be made.

Unum will not recover more money than the amount we paid you.

#### WHAT ARE YOUR ASSIGNABILITY RIGHTS FOR THE DEATH BENEFITS UNDER YOUR LIFE INSURANCE? (Assignability Rights)

The rights provided to you by the plan for life insurance are owned by you, unless:

- you have previously assigned these rights to someone else (known as an "assignee"); or
- you assign your rights under the plan(s) to an assignee.

We will recognize an assignee as the owner of the rights assigned only if:

- the assignment is in writing, signed by you, and acceptable to us in form; and
  a signed or certified copy of the written assignment has been received and
- a signed or certified copy of the written assignment has been received and registered by us at our home office.

We will not be responsible for the legal, tax or other effects of any assignment, or for any action taken under the plan(s') provisions before receiving and registering an assignment.

## CLAIM INFORMATION

## ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE

# WHEN DO YOU OR YOUR AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE NOTIFY UNUM OF A CLAIM?

We encourage you or your authorized representative to notify us as soon as possible, so that a claim decision can be made in a timely manner.

If a claim is based on death or other covered loss, written notice and proof of claim must be sent no later than 90 days after the date of death or the date of any other covered loss.

If a claim is based on the Education Benefit, written notice and proof of claim must be sent no later than 60 days after the date of your death.

If it is not possible to give proof within these time limits, it must be given no later than 1 year after the time proof is required as specified above. These time limits will not apply during any period you or your authorized representative lacks the legal capacity to give us proof of claim.

The claim form is available from your Employer, or you or your authorized representative can request a claim form from us. If you or your authorized representative does not receive the form from Unum within 15 days of your request, send Unum written proof of claim without waiting for the form.

### HOW DO YOU FILE A CLAIM FOR A COVERED LOSS?

You or your authorized representative and your Employer must fill out your own sections of the claim form and then give it to your attending physician. Your physician should fill out his or her section of the form and send it directly to Unum.

#### WHAT INFORMATION IS NEEDED AS PROOF OF CLAIM?

If claim is based on death or other covered loss, proof of claim for death or covered loss, provided at your or your authorized representative's expense, must show:

- the cause of death or covered loss;
- the extent of the covered loss;
- the date of covered loss; and
- the name and address of any **hospital or institution** where treatment was received, including all attending **physicians**.

Also, in case of death, a certified copy of the death certificate must be given to us.

In some cases, you will be required to give Unum authorization to obtain additional medical and non-medical information as part of your proof of claim. Unum will deny your claim if the appropriate information is not submitted.

If a claim is based on the Education Benefit, proof of claim, provided at your authorized representative's expense, must show:

- the date of enrollment of your qualified child in an accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning;
- the name of the institution;
- a list of courses for the current academic term; and
- the number of credit hours for the current academic term.

### WHEN CAN UNUM REQUEST AN AUTOPSY?

In the case of death, Unum will have the right and opportunity to request an autopsy where not forbidden by law.

# HOW DO YOU DESIGNATE OR CHANGE A BENEFICIARY? (Beneficiary Designation)

At the time you become insured, you should name a beneficiary on your enrollment form for your death benefits under your accidental death and dismemberment insurance. You may change your beneficiary at any time by filing a form approved by Unum with your Employer. The new beneficiary designation will be effective as of the date you sign that form. However, if we have taken any action or made any payment before your Employer receives that form, that change will not go into effect.

It is important that you name a beneficiary and keep your designation current. If more than one beneficiary is named and you do not designate their order or share of payments, the beneficiaries will share equally. The share of a beneficiary who dies before you, or the share of a beneficiary who is disqualified, will pass to any surviving beneficiaries in the order you designated.

If you do not name a beneficiary, or if all named beneficiaries do not survive you, or if your named beneficiary is disqualified, your death benefit will be paid to your estate.

Instead of making a death payment to your estate, Unum has the right to make payment to the first surviving family members of the family members in the order listed below:

- spouse;
- child or children;
- mother or father; or
- sisters or brothers.

If we are to make payments to a beneficiary who lacks the legal capacity to give us a release, Unum may pay up to \$2,000 to the person or institution that appears to have assumed the custody and main support of the beneficiary. This payment made in good faith satisfies Unum's legal duty to the extent of that payment and Unum will not have to make payment again.

Also, at Unum's option, we may pay up to \$1,000 to the person or persons who, in our opinion, have incurred expenses for your last sickness and death.

#### HOW WILL UNUM MAKE PAYMENTS?

If your accidental death or dismemberment claim is at least \$10,000 Unum will make available to you or your beneficiary a **retained asset account** (the Unum Security Account).

Payment for the accidental death or dismemberment claim may be accessed by writing a draft in a single sum or drafts in smaller sums. The funds for the draft or drafts are fully guaranteed by Unum.

If the accidental death or dismemberment claim is less than \$10,000, Unum will pay it in one lump sum to you or your beneficiary.

Also, your beneficiary may request the accidental death claim to be paid according to one of Unum's other settlement options. This request must be in writing in order to be paid under Unum's other settlement options.

The Child Care Benefit will be paid to you, your spouse, your beneficiary or your or your spouse's authorized representative.

The Education Benefit will be paid to your qualified child or the qualified child's legal representative.

All other benefits will be paid to you.

#### WHAT HAPPENS IF UNUM OVERPAYS YOUR CLAIM?

Unum has the right to recover any overpayments due to:

- fraud; and
- any error Unum makes in processing a claim.

You must reimburse us in full. We will determine the method by which the repayment is to be made.

Unum will not recover more money than the amount we paid you.

#### WHAT ARE YOUR ASSIGNABILITY RIGHTS FOR THE DEATH BENEFITS UNDER YOUR ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS? (Assignability Rights)

The rights provided to you by the plan(s) for accidental death insurance benefits are owned by you, unless:

- you have previously assigned these rights to someone else (known as an "assignee"); or
- you assign your rights under the plan(s) to an assignee.

We will recognize an assignee as the owner of the rights assigned only if:

- the assignment is in writing, signed by you, and acceptable to us in form; and
- a signed or certified copy of the written assignment has been received and registered by us at our home office.

We will not be responsible for the legal, tax or other effects of any assignment, or for any action taken under the plan(s') provisions before receiving and registering an assignment.

## POLICYHOLDER PROVISIONS

## WHAT IS THE COST OF THIS INSURANCE?

## LIFE INSURANCE

Premium payments are *required* for an insured while he or she is disabled under this plan.

The initial premium for each **plan** is based on the initial rate(s) shown in the Rate Information Amendment(s).

#### PREMIUM WAIVER

Unum does not require premium payments for an insured employee's life coverage if he or she is under age 60 and disabled for 9 months. Proof of disability, provided at the insured employee's expense, must be filed by the insured employee and approved by Unum.

### INITIAL RATE GUARANTEE AND RATE CHANGES

Refer to the Rate Information Amendment(s).

## ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE

The initial premium for each **plan** is based on the initial rate(s) shown in the Rate Information Amendment(s).

## INITIAL RATE GUARANTEE AND RATE CHANGES

Refer to the Rate Information Amendment(s).

#### WHEN IS PREMIUM DUE FOR THIS POLICY?

Premium Due Dates: Premium due dates are based on the Premium Due Dates shown in the Rate Information Amendment(s).

The **Policyholder** must send all premiums to Unum on or before their respective due date. The premium must be paid in United States dollars.

#### WHEN ARE INCREASES OR DECREASES IN PREMIUM DUE?

Premium increases or decreases which take effect during a policy month are adjusted and due on the next premium due date following the change. Changes will not be pro-rated daily.

If premiums are paid on other than a monthly basis, premiums for increases and decreases will result in a monthly pro-rated adjustment on the next premium due date.

Unum will only adjust premium for the current policy year and the prior policy year. In the case of fraud, premium adjustments will be made for all policy years.

## WHAT INFORMATION DOES UNUM REQUIRE FROM THE POLICYHOLDER?

The Policyholder must provide Unum with the following on a regular basis:

- information about employees:
  - who are eligible to become insured;
  - whose amounts of coverage change; and/or
  - whose coverage ends;
- occupational information and any other information that may be required to manage a claim; and
- any other information that may be reasonably required.

Policyholder records that, in Unum's opinion, have a bearing on this policy will be available for review by Unum at any reasonable time.

Clerical error or omission by Unum will not:

- prevent an employee from receiving coverage;
- affect the amount of an insured's coverage; or
- cause an employee's coverage to begin or continue when the coverage would not otherwise be effective.

## WHO CAN CANCEL OR MODIFY THIS POLICY OR A PLAN UNDER THIS POLICY?

This policy or a plan under this policy can be cancelled:

- by Unum; or
- by the Policyholder.

Unum may cancel or modify this policy or a plan if:

- there is less than 100% participation of those eligible employees for a Policyholder paid plan; or
- there is less than 75% participation of those eligible employees who pay all or part of the premium for a plan; or
- the Policyholder does not promptly provide Unum with information that is reasonably required; or
- the Policyholder fails to perform any of its obligations that relate to this policy; or
- fewer than 10 employees are insured under a plan; or
- the premium is not paid in accordance with the provisions of this policy that specify whether the Policyholder, the employee, or both, pay the premiums; or
- the Policyholder does not promptly report to Unum the names of any employees who are added or deleted from the eligible group; or
- Unum determines that there is a significant change, in the size, occupation or age of the eligible group as a result of a corporate transaction such as a merger, divestiture, acquisition, sale, or reorganization of the Policyholder and/or its employees; or
- the Policyholder fails to pay any premium within the 31 day grace period.

If Unum cancels or modifies this policy or a plan, for reasons other than the Policyholder's failure to pay premium, a written notice will be delivered to the Policyholder at least 31 days prior to the cancellation date or modification date. The Policyholder may cancel this policy or plan if the modifications are unacceptable. If any portion of the premium is not paid during the grace period, Unum will either cancel or modify this policy or a plan automatically at the end of the grace period. The Policyholder is liable for premium for coverage during the grace period. The Policyholder must pay Unum all premium due for the full period each plan is in force.

The Policyholder may cancel this policy or a plan by written notice delivered to Unum at least 31 days prior to the cancellation date. When both the Policyholder and Unum agree, this policy or a plan can be cancelled on a earlier date. If Unum or the Policyholder cancels this policy or a plan, coverage will end at 12:00 midnight on the last day of coverage.

If this policy or a plan is cancelled, the cancellation will not affect a **payable claim**.

#### WHAT HAPPENS TO AN EMPLOYEE'S COVERAGE UNDER THIS POLICY WHILE HE OR SHE IS ON A FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE OF ABSENCE?

We will continue the employee's coverage in accordance with the Employer's Human Resource policy on family and medical leaves of absence if premium payments continue and the Employer approved the employee's leave in writing.

Coverage will be continued until the end of the latest of:

- the leave period required by the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, and any amendments; or
- the leave period required by applicable state law; or
- the leave period provided to the employee for injury or sickness.

If the Employer's Human Resource policy doesn't provide for continuation of a plan for an employee during a family and medical leave of absence, the employee's coverage will be reinstated when he or she returns to active employment.

We will not:

- apply a new waiting period; or
- require evidence of insurability.

#### DIVISIONS, SUBSIDIARIES OR AFFILIATED COMPANIES INCLUDE:

FOR LIFE INSURANCE:

#### NAME/LOCATION (CITY AND STATE)

None

FOR ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE:

NAME/LOCATION (CITY AND STATE)

None

# **CERTIFICATE SECTION**

Unum Life Insurance Company of America (referred to as Unum) welcomes you as a client.

This is your certificate of coverage as long as you are eligible for coverage and you become insured. You will want to read it carefully and keep it in a safe place.

Unum has written your certificate of coverage in plain English. However, a few terms and provisions are written as required by insurance law. If you have any questions about any of the terms and provisions, please consult Unum's claims paying office. Unum will assist you in any way to help you understand your benefits.

If the terms and provisions of the certificate of coverage (issued to you) are different from the policy (issued to the Policyholder), the policy will govern. The policy may be changed in whole or in part. Only an officer or registrar of Unum can approve a change. The approval must be in writing and endorsed on or attached to the policy. Any other person, including an agent, may not change the policy or waive any part of it.

The policy is delivered in and is governed by the laws of the governing jurisdiction and to the extent applicable by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) and any amendments.

For purposes of effective dates and ending dates under the group policy, all days begin at 12:01 a.m. and end at 12:00 midnight at the Policyholder's address.

Unum Life Insurance Company of America 2211 Congress Street Portland, Maine 04122

## **GENERAL PROVISIONS**

## WHAT IS THE CERTIFICATE OF COVERAGE?

This certificate of coverage is a written statement prepared by Unum and may include attachments. It tells you:

- the coverage for which you may be entitled;
- to whom Unum will make a payment; and
- the limitations, exclusions and requirements that apply within a plan.

Unum will provide your Employer with a certificate of coverage for delivery to each insured.

### WHEN ARE YOU ELIGIBLE FOR COVERAGE?

If you are working for your Employer in an eligible group, the date you are eligible for coverage is the later of:

- the plan effective date; or
- the day after you complete your waiting period.

#### WHEN DOES YOUR COVERAGE BEGIN?

When your Employer pays 100% of the cost of your coverage under a plan, you will be covered at 12:01 a.m. on the later of:

- the date you are eligible for coverage; or
- the date Unum approves your evidence of insurability form, if evidence of insurability is required.

When you and your Employer share the cost of your coverage under a plan or when you pay 100% of the cost yourself, you will be covered at 12:01 a.m. on the latest of:

- the date you are eligible for coverage, if you apply for insurance on or before that date;
- the date you apply for insurance, if you apply within 31 days after your eligibility date; or
- the date Unum approves your evidence of insurability form, if evidence of insurability is required.

Evidence of insurability is required if you:

- are a late applicant, which means you apply for coverage more than 31 days after the date you are eligible for coverage; or
- voluntarily cancelled your coverage and are reapplying.

An evidence of insurability form can be obtained from your Employer.

#### WHAT IF YOU ARE ABSENT FROM WORK ON THE DATE YOUR COVERAGE WOULD NORMALLY BEGIN?

If you are absent from work due to injury, sickness, temporary layoff or leave of absence, your coverage will begin on the date you return to **active employment**.

#### ONCE YOUR COVERAGE BEGINS, WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU ARE NOT WORKING DUE TO INJURY OR SICKNESS?

If you are not working due to injury or sickness, and if premium is paid, you may continue to be covered up to your retirement date.

# ONCE YOUR COVERAGE BEGINS, WHAT HAPPENS IF YOU ARE TEMPORARILY NOT WORKING?

If you are on a temporary **layoff**, and if premium is paid, you will be covered through the end of the month that immediately follows the month in which your temporary layoff begins.

If you are on a **leave of absence**, and if premium is paid, you will be covered through the end of the month that immediately follows the month in which your leave of absence begins.

### WHEN WILL CHANGES TO YOUR COVERAGE TAKE EFFECT?

Once your coverage begins, any increased or additional coverage due to a change in your annual earnings or due to a plan change requested by your Employer will take effect immediately or on the date Unum approves your evidence of insurability form, if evidence of insurability is required. You must be in active employment or on a covered layoff or leave of absence.

If you are not in active employment due to injury or sickness, any increased or additional coverage due to a change in your annual earnings or due to a plan change will begin on the date you return to active employment.

Any decrease in coverage will take effect immediately but will not affect a **payable claim** that occurs prior to the decrease.

#### WHEN DOES YOUR COVERAGE END?

Your coverage under the Policy or a plan ends on the earliest of:

- the date the Policy or a plan is cancelled;
- the date you no longer are in an eligible group;
- the date your eligible group is no longer covered;
- the last day of the period for which you made any required contributions; or
- the last day you are in active employment unless continued due to a covered layoff or leave of absence or due to an injury or sickness, as described in this certificate of coverage.

Unum will provide coverage for a payable claim which occurs while you are covered under the Policy or plan.

#### WHAT ARE THE TIME LIMITS FOR LEGAL PROCEEDINGS?

You can start legal action regarding your claim 60 days after proof of claim has been given and up to 3 years from the time proof of claim is required, unless otherwise provided under federal law.

# HOW CAN STATEMENTS MADE IN YOUR APPLICATION FOR THIS COVERAGE BE USED?

In the absence of fraud, Unum considers any statements you or your Employer make in a signed application for coverage or an evidence of insurability form a representation and not a warranty. If any of the statements you or your Employer make are not complete and/or not true at the time they are made, we can:

- reduce or deny any claim; or
- cancel your coverage from the original effective date.

As a basis of doing this, we will use only statements made in a signed application by the Employer, or an application or an evidence of insurability form signed by you a copy of which is or has been given to you or your beneficiary. Such statements cannot be used to reduce or deny coverage if coverage with respect to which such statements were made, had been in force for at least 2 years.

Unum can only contest the validity of the policy during the first 2 years the policy is in force, except for non-payment of premium.

If an individual's age is misstated:

- the correct age will be used to determine if and in what amounts insurance is valid under the policy; and
- a fair adjustment of the premium will be made.

### HOW WILL UNUM HANDLE INSURANCE FRAUD?

Unum wants to ensure you and your Employer do not incur additional insurance costs as a result of the undermining effects of insurance fraud. Unum promises to focus on all means necessary to support fraud detection, investigation, and prosecution.

It is a crime if you knowingly, and with intent to injure, defraud or deceive Unum, or provide any information, including filing a claim, that contains any false, incomplete or misleading information. These actions, as well as submission of materially false information, will result in denial of your claim, and are subject to prosecution and punishment to the full extent under state and/or federal law. Unum will pursue all appropriate legal remedies in the event of insurance fraud.

# DOES THE POLICY REPLACE OR AFFECT ANY WORKERS' COMPENSATION OR STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE?

The policy does not replace or affect the requirements for coverage by any workers' compensation or state disability insurance.

#### DOES YOUR EMPLOYER ACT AS YOUR AGENT OR UNUM'S AGENT?

For purposes of the policy, your Employer acts on its own behalf or as your agent. Under no circumstances will your Employer be deemed the agent of Unum.

# LIFE INSURANCE

## **BENEFIT INFORMATION**

## WHEN WILL YOUR BENEFICIARY RECEIVE PAYMENT?

Your beneficiary(ies) will receive payment when Unum approves your death claim.

## WHAT DOCUMENTS ARE REQUIRED FOR PROOF OF DEATH?

Unum will require a certified copy of the death certificate, enrollment documents and a Notice and Proof of Claim form.

# HOW MUCH WILL UNUM PAY YOUR BENEFICIARY IF UNUM APPROVES YOUR DEATH CLAIM?

Unum will determine the payment according to the amount of insurance shown in the LIFE INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

## WHAT ARE YOUR ANNUAL EARNINGS?

"Annual Earnings" means your average gross annual income as figured:

- a. from the income box on your W-2 form which reflects wages, tips and other compensation received from your Employer for the calendar year just prior to the date of loss; or
- b. for the period of your employment with your Employer if you did not receive a W-2 form prior to the date of loss.

Average gross annual income is your total income before taxes. It is prior to any deductions made for pre-tax contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan, Section 125 plan, or flexible spending account. It does not include income received from bonuses, car, housing or moving allowances, Employer contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan or income received from sources other than your Employer.

#### WHAT WILL WE USE FOR ANNUAL EARNINGS IF YOU BECOME DISABLED DURING A COVERED LAYOFF OR LEAVE OF ABSENCE?

If you become disabled while you are on a covered layoff or leave of absence, we will use your annual earnings from your Employer in effect just prior to the date your absence began.

# WHAT HAPPENS TO YOUR LIFE INSURANCE COVERAGE IF YOU BECOME DISABLED?

Your life insurance coverage may be continued for a specific time and your life insurance premium will be waived if you qualify as described below.

#### HOW LONG MUST YOU BE DISABLED BEFORE YOU ARE ELIGIBLE TO HAVE LIFE PREMIUMS WAIVED?

You must be disabled through your **elimination period**.

Your elimination period is 9 months.

### WHEN WILL YOUR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM WAIVER BEGIN?

Your life insurance premium waiver will begin when we approve your claim, if the elimination period has ended and you meet the following conditions. Your Employer may continue premium payments until Unum notifies your Employer of the date your life insurance premium waiver begins.

Your life insurance premium will be waived if you meet these conditions:

- you are less than 60 and insured under the plan.
- you become disabled and remain disabled during the elimination period.
- you meet the notice and proof of claim requirements for disability while your life insurance is in effect or within three months after it ends.
- your claim is approved by Unum.

After we approve your claim, Unum does not require further premium payments for you while you remain disabled according to the terms and provisions of the plan.

Your life insurance amount will not increase while your life insurance premiums are being waived. Your life insurance amount will reduce or cease at any time it would reduce or cease if you had not been disabled.

## WHEN WILL YOUR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM WAIVER END?

The life insurance premium waiver will automatically end if:

- you recover and you no longer are disabled;
- you fail to give us proper proof that you remain disabled;
- you refuse to have an examination by a physician chosen by Unum;
- you reach age 65; or
- premium has been waived for 12 months and you are considered to reside outside the United States. You will be considered to reside outside the United States when you have been outside the United States for a total period of 6 months or more during any 12 consecutive months for which premium has been waived.

#### HOW DOES UNUM DEFINE DISABILITY?

You are disabled when Unum determines that:

- during the elimination period, you are not working in any occupation due to your **injury** or **sickness**; and
- after the elimination period, due to the same injury or sickness, you are unable to perform the duties of any **gainful occupation** for which you are reasonably fitted by training, education or experience.

You must be under the regular care of a physician in order to be considered disabled.

The loss of a professional or occupational license or certification does not, in itself, constitute disability.

We may require you to be examined by a physician, other medical practitioner or vocational expert of our choice. Unum will pay for this examination. We can require an examination as often as it is reasonable to do so. We may also require you to be interviewed by an authorized Unum Representative.

### APPLYING FOR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM WAIVER

Ask your Employer for a life insurance premium waiver claim form.

The form has instructions on how to complete and where to send the claim.

# WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHILE YOU ARE SATISFYING THE DISABILITY REQUIREMENTS? (See Conversion Privilege)

You may use this life conversion privilege when your life insurance terminates while you are satisfying the disability requirements. Please refer to the conversion privilege below. You are not eligible to apply for this life conversion if you return to work and, again, become covered under the plan.

If an individual life insurance policy is issued to you, any benefit for your death under this plan will be paid only if the individual policy is returned for surrender to Unum. Unum will refund all premiums paid for the individual policy.

The amount of your death benefit will be paid to your named beneficiary for the plan. If, however, you named a different beneficiary for the individual policy and the policy is returned to Unum for surrender, that different beneficiary will not be paid.

If you want to name a different beneficiary for this group plan, you must change your beneficiary as described in the Beneficiary Designation page of this group plan.

#### WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion Privilege)

When coverage ends under the plan, you can convert your coverage to an individual life policy, without evidence of insurability. The maximum amount that you can convert may not exceed your coverage amount under the plan less the amount of any life insurance that you are or become eligible for under the same or any other group policy within 31 days after the date the policy or plan is cancelled. You may convert a lower amount of life insurance.

You must apply for individual life insurance under this life conversion privilege and pay the first premium within 31 days after the date:

- your employment terminates; or
- you no longer are eligible to participate in the coverage of the plan.

If you convert to an individual life policy, then return to work, and, again, become insured under the plan, you are not eligible to convert to an individual life policy again. However, you do not need to surrender that individual life policy when you return to work.

Converted insurance may be of any type of the level premium whole life plans, other than term insurance, then in use by Unum. The person may elect one year of

Preliminary Term insurance under the level premium whole life policy. The individual policy will not contain disability or other extra benefits.

# WHAT LIMITED CONVERSION IS AVAILABLE IF THE POLICY OR THE PLAN IS CANCELLED? (CONVERSION PRIVILEGE)

You may convert a limited amount of life insurance if you have been insured under your Employer's group plan with Unum for at least five (5) years and the Policy or the plan:

- is cancelled with Unum; or
- changes so that you no longer are eligible.

The individual life policy maximum will be the lesser of:

- \$2,000; or
- your coverage amount under the plan less the amount of any life insurance that you are or become eligible for under any group policy issued or reinstated by the same or another insurer within 31 days after the date the policy or the plan is cancelled.

### PREMIUMS

Premiums for the converted insurance will be based on:

- your then attained age on the effective date of the individual life policy;
- the type and amount of insurance to be converted;
- Unum's customary rates in use at that time; and
- the class of risk to which you belong.

If the premium payment has been made, the individual life policy will be effective at the end of the 31 day conversion application period.

## DEATH DURING THE THIRTY-ONE DAY CONVERSION APPLICATION PERIOD

If you die within the 31 day conversion application period, Unum will pay the beneficiary(ies) the amount of insurance that could have been converted. This coverage is available whether or not you have applied for an individual life policy under the conversion privilege.

#### EMPLOYER NOTICE

Your Employer must notify you of your conversion privilege 15 days before the date your life insurance terminates.

If your Employer does not notify you 15 days before your life insurance terminates, the time allowed for you to exercise your life conversion privilege will be extended 15 days from the date your Employer does notify you.

In no event will the time allowed for you to exercise your life conversion privilege be extended beyond 60 days from the date your life insurance terminates.

## APPLYING FOR CONVERSION

Ask your Employer for a conversion application form which includes cost information.

When you complete the application, send it with the first premium amount to:

Unum - Conversion Unit 2211 Congress Street Portland, Maine 04122-1350 1-800-343-5406

#### WILL UNUM ACCELERATE YOUR DEATH BENEFIT FOR THE PLAN IF YOU BECOME TERMINALLY ILL? (Accelerated Benefit)

If you become terminally ill while you are insured by the plan, Unum will pay you a portion of your life insurance benefit one time. The payment will be based on 100% of your life insurance amount. However, the one-time benefit paid will not be greater than \$250,000.

Your right to exercise this option and to receive payment is subject to the following:

- you request this election, in writing, on a form acceptable to Unum;
- you must be terminally ill at the time of payment of the Accelerated Benefit;
- your physician must certify, in writing, that you are terminally ill and your life expectancy has been reduced to less than 12 months; and
- the physician's certification must be deemed satisfactory to Unum.

The Accelerated Benefit is available on a voluntary basis. Therefore, you are not eligible for benefits if:

- you are required by law to use this benefit to meet the claims of creditors, whether in bankruptcy or otherwise; or
- you are required by a government agency to use this benefit in order to apply for, get, or otherwise keep a government benefit or entitlement.

Premium payments must continue to be paid on the full amount of life insurance unless you qualify to have your life premium waived.

If you have assigned your rights under the plan to an assignee or made an irrevocable beneficiary designation, Unum must receive consent, in writing, that the assignee or irrevocable beneficiary has agreed to the Accelerated Benefit payment on your behalf in a form acceptable to Unum before benefits are payable.

An election to receive an Accelerated Benefit will have the following effect on other benefits:

- the death benefit payable will be reduced by any amount of Accelerated Benefit that has been paid; and
- any amount of life insurance that would be continued under a disability continuation provision or that may be available under the conversion privilege will be reduced by the amount of the Accelerated Benefit paid. The remaining life insurance amount will be paid according to the terms of the Policy subject to any reduction and termination provisions.

Benefits paid may be taxable. Unum is not responsible for any tax or other effects of any benefit paid. As with all tax matters, you should consult your personal tax advisor to assess the impact of this benefit.

## WHAT LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?

Your plan does not cover any losses where death is caused by, contributed to by, or results from:

- suicide occurring within 24 months after your initial effective date of insurance; and
- suicide occurring within 24 months after the date any increases or additional insurance becomes effective for you.

The suicide exclusion will apply to any amounts of insurance for which you pay all or part of the premium.

The suicide exclusion also will apply to any amount that is subject to evidence of insurability requirements and Unum approves the evidence of insurability form and the amount you applied for at that time.

# LIFE INSURANCE

# **OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES**

#### WHAT IF YOU ARE NOT IN ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT WHEN THE POLICYHOLDER CHANGES GROUP INSURANCE CARRIERS TO UNUM? (CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE)

Unum will provide coverage for you if you were covered by the prior policy on the day before the effective date of this policy, and if you would be eligible for coverage under this policy if you were in active employment on the effective date of this policy.

If you are on a covered layoff or leave of absence on the effective date of this policy, we will consider your layoff or leave of absence to have started on that date, and coverage for you under this provision will continue for the layoff or leave of absence period provided in this policy, or the layoff or leave of absence period remaining under the prior policy on the effective date of this policy, whichever period is shorter.

If you are absent from work due to injury or sickness on the effective date of this policy, then coverage under this provision will continue until the earliest of the date:

- you are no longer injured or sick,
- you return to active employment,
- you are approved for a disability extension of benefits or accrued liability under the prior policy, including premium waiver, or
- your employment ends.

Also, if you incur a covered loss but are not in active employment under this policy, any benefits payable under this policy will be limited to the amount that would have been paid by the prior carrier. Unum will reduce your payment by any amount for which the prior carrier is liable.

Coverage for you is subject to payment of required premium and all other terms of this policy, except that the portable insurance coverage terms of this policy will not apply to coverage provided under this provision.

#### WHAT COVERAGE IS AVAILABLE IF YOU END EMPLOYMENT OR YOU WORK REDUCED HOURS? (Portability)

If your employment ends with or you retire from your Employer or you are working less than the minimum number of hours as described under Eligible Groups in this plan, you may elect portable coverage for yourself.

## PORTABLE INSURANCE COVERAGE AND AMOUNTS AVAILABLE

The portable insurance coverage will be the current coverage and amounts that you are insured for under your Employer's group plan.

However, the amount of portable coverage for you will not be more than:

- the highest amount of life insurance available for employees under the plan; or
- 5x your annual earnings; or
- \$750,000 from all Unum group life and accidental death and dismemberment plans combined,

whichever is less.

The amount of ported life insurance must be equal to or greater than the amount of ported accidental death and dismemberment insurance.

The minimum amount of coverage that can be ported is \$5,000. If the current amounts under the plan are less than \$5,000, you may port the lesser amounts.

Your amount of life insurance will reduce or cease at any time it would reduce or cease for your eligible group if you had continued in active employment with your Employer.

### APPLYING FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE

You must apply for portable coverage for yourself and pay the first premium within 31 days after the date:

- your coverage ends or you retire from your Employer; or
- you begin working less than the minimum number of hours as described under Eligible Groups in this plan.

You are not eligible to apply for portable coverage for yourself if:

- you have an **injury** or **sickness**, under the terms of this plan, which has a material effect on life expectancy; or
- you failed to pay the required premium under the terms of this plan.

If we determine that because of an injury or sickness, which has a material effect on life expectancy, you were not eligible for portability at the time you elected portable coverage, the benefit will be adjusted to the amount of whole life coverage the premium would have purchased under the Conversion Privilege.

## APPLYING FOR INCREASES OR DECREASES IN PORTABLE COVERAGE

You may increase or decrease the amount of life insurance coverage. The minimum and maximum benefit amounts are shown above. However, the amount of life insurance coverage cannot be decreased below \$5,000. All increases are subject to evidence of insurability. Portable coverage will reduce at the ages and amounts shown in the LIFE INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

#### WHEN PORTABLE COVERAGE ENDS

Portable coverage for you will end on the date you fail to pay any required premium.

If portable coverage ends due to failure to pay required premium, portable coverage cannot be reinstated.

#### PREMIUM RATE CHANGES FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE

Unum may change premium rates for portable coverage at any time for reasons which affect the risk assumed, including those reasons shown below:

- changes occur in the coverage levels;

- changes occur in the overall use of benefits by all insureds;
- changes occur in other risk factors; or
- a new law or a change in any existing law is enacted which applies to portable coverage.

The change in premium rates will be made on a class basis according to Unum's underwriting risk studies. Unum will notify the insured in writing at least 31 days before a premium rate is changed.

# APPLYING FOR CONVERSION, IF PORTABLE COVERAGE ENDS OR IS NOT AVAILABLE

If you are not eligible to apply for portable coverage or portable coverage ends, then you may qualify for conversion coverage. Refer to Conversion Privilege under this plan.

Ask your Employer for a conversion application form which includes cost information.

When you complete the application, send it with the first premium amount to:

Unum - Conversion Unit 2211 Congress Street Portland, Maine 04122-1350 1-800-343-5406

## ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE

## **BENEFIT INFORMATION**

# WHEN WILL YOUR BENEFICIARY RECEIVE PAYMENT IN THE EVENT OF YOUR DEATH IF YOUR DEATH IS THE DIRECT RESULT OF AN ACCIDENT?

Your beneficiary(ies) will receive payment when Unum approves your death claim providing you meet certain conditions.

### WHAT DOCUMENTS ARE REQUIRED FOR PROOF OF ACCIDENTAL DEATH?

Unum will require a certified copy of the death certificate, enrollment documents and a Notice and Proof of Claim form.

#### WHEN WILL YOU RECEIVE PAYMENT IN THE EVENT OF CERTAIN OTHER COVERED LOSSES IF THE LOSS IS THE DIRECT RESULT OF AN ACCIDENT?

You will receive payment when Unum approves the claim.

#### HOW MUCH WILL UNUM PAY YOUR BENEFICIARY IN THE EVENT OF YOUR ACCIDENTAL DEATH OR YOU FOR CERTAIN OTHER COVERED LOSSES?

If Unum approves the claim, Unum will determine the payment according to the Covered Losses and Benefits List below. The benefit Unum will pay is listed opposite the corresponding covered loss.

The benefit will be paid only if an **accidental bodily injury** results in one or more of the covered losses listed below within 365 days from the date of the accident.

Also, the accident must occur while you are insured under the plan.

<u>Covered Losses</u> Life	Benefit Amounts The Full Amount
Both Hands or Both Feet or Sight of Both Eyes	The Full Amount
One Hand and One Foot	The Full Amount
One Hand and Sight of One Eye	The Full Amount
One Foot and Sight of One Eye	The Full Amount
Speech and Hearing	The Full Amount
Quadriplegia	The Full Amount
Triplegia	Three Quarters The Full Amount

Paraplegia	Three Quarters The Full Amount
One Hand or One Foot	One Half The Full Amount
Sight of One Eye	One Half The Full Amount
Speech or Hearing	One Half The Full Amount
Hemiplegia	One Half The Full Amount
Thumb and Index Finger of Same Hand	One Quarter The Full Amount
Uniplegia	One Quarter The Full Amount

The most Unum will pay for any combination of Covered Losses from any one accident is the full amount.

The Full Amount is the amount shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

### WHAT ARE YOUR ANNUAL EARNINGS?

"Annual Earnings" means your average gross annual income as figured:

- a. from the income box on your W-2 form which reflects wages, tips and other compensation received from your Employer for the calendar year just prior to the date of loss; or
- b. for the period of your employment with your Employer if you did not receive a W-2 form prior to the date of loss.

Average gross annual income is your total income before taxes. It is prior to any deductions made for pre-tax contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan, Section 125 plan, or flexible spending account. It does not include income received from bonuses, car, housing or moving allowances, Employer contributions to a qualified deferred compensation plan or income received from sources other than your Employer.

#### WHAT WILL WE USE FOR ANNUAL EARNINGS IF YOU BECOME DISABLED DURING A COVERED LAYOFF OR LEAVE OF ABSENCE?

If you have an accidental bodily injury that results in one or more of the covered losses while you are on a covered layoff or leave of absence, we will use your annual earnings from your Employer in effect just prior to the date your absence began.

#### WHAT REPATRIATION BENEFIT WILL UNUM PROVIDE?

Unum will pay an additional benefit for the preparation and transportation of your body to a mortuary chosen by you or your authorized representative. Payment will be made if, as the result of a covered accident, you suffer loss of life at least 100 miles away from your principal place of residence.

However, when combined with two or more Unum accidental death and dismemberment insurance plans, the combined overall maximum for these plans together cannot exceed the actual expenses for the preparation and transportation of your body to a mortuary.

The maximum benefit amount is shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

### WHAT SEATBELT(S) AND AIR BAG BENEFIT WILL UNUM PROVIDE?

Unum will pay you or your authorized representative an additional benefit if you sustain an accidental bodily injury which causes your death while you are driving or riding in a **Private Passenger Car**, provided:

For Seatbelt(s):

- the Private Passenger Car is equipped with seatbelt(s); and
- the seatbelt(s) were in actual use and properly fastened at the time of the covered accident; and
- the position of the seatbelt(s) are certified in the official report of the covered accident, or by the investigating officer. A copy of the police accident report must be submitted with the claim.

Also, if such certification is not available, and it is clear that you were properly wearing seatbelt(s), then we will pay the additional seatbelt benefit.

However, if such certification is not available, and it is unclear whether you were properly wearing seatbelt(s), then we will pay a fixed benefit of \$1,000.

An automatic harness seatbelt will not be considered properly fastened unless a lap belt is also used.

For Air Bag:

- the Private Passenger Car is equipped with an air bag for the seat in which you are seated; and
- the seatbelt(s) must be in actual use and properly fastened at the time of the covered accident.

No benefit will be paid if you are the driver of the Private Passenger Car and do not hold a current and valid driver's license.

No benefit will be paid if Unum is able to verify that the air bag(s) had been disengaged prior to the accident.

The accident causing your death must occur while you are insured under the plan.

The maximum benefit amount is shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

# WHAT EDUCATION BENEFIT WILL UNUM PROVIDE FOR YOUR QUALIFIED CHILDREN?

Unum will pay your authorized representative on behalf of each of your qualified children a lump sum payment if:

- you lose your life:
- as a result of an accidental bodily injury; and
   within 365 days after the date of the accident causing the accidental bodily injury;
- the accident causing your accidental bodily injury occurred while you were insured under the plan;
- proof is furnished to Unum that the child is a **qualified child**; and
- the qualified child continues to be enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning beyond the 12th grade level.

The benefit amount per academic year, maximum benefit payments, maximum benefit amount and maximum benefit period are shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

## WHEN WILL THE EDUCATION BENEFIT END FOR EACH QUALIFIED CHILD?

The education benefit will terminate for each qualified child on the earliest of the following dates:

- the date your qualified child fails to furnish proof as required by us;
- the date your qualified child no longer qualifies as a dependent child for any reason except your death; or
- the end of the maximum benefit period.

# WHAT COVERAGE FOR EXPOSURE AND DISAPPEARANCE BENEFIT WILL UNUM PROVIDE?

Unum will pay a benefit if you sustain an accidental bodily injury and are unavoidably exposed to the elements and suffer a loss.

We will presume you suffered loss of life due to an accident if:

- you are riding in a common public passenger carrier that is involved in an accident covered under the policy; and
- as a result of the accident, the common public passenger carrier is wrecked, sinks, is stranded, or disappears; and
- your body is not found within 1 year of the accident.

Also, the accident must occur while you are insured under the plan.

The maximum benefit amount is shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

#### WHAT COMMON CARRIER BENEFIT WILL UNUM PROVIDE?

Unum will pay an additional benefit if you die from an accidental bodily injury received in an accident which is not an **occupational injury** and occurs while you are riding as a passenger in a common public passenger carrier.

The maximum benefit amount is shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

### WHAT CHILD CARE BENEFIT WILL UNUM PROVIDE?

Unum will pay you, your spouse or your or your spouse's authorized representative on behalf of each of your qualified children an annual benefit amount for child care if:

- you or your spouse die:
- as a result of an accidental bodily injury; and
- within 365 days after the date of the accident causing the accidental bodily injury;
- the accident causing your or your spouse's accidental bodily injury occurred while you or your spouse was insured under the plan;
- proof is furnished to Unum that the child is a qualified child.

This benefit will only be paid once per accident, even if you and your spouse suffers an injury in the same accident.

The annual benefit amount, maximum benefit amount and maximum benefit period are shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

#### WHEN WILL THE CHILD CARE BENEFIT END FOR EACH QUALIFIED CHILD?

The child care benefit will terminate for each qualified child on the earliest of the following dates:

- the date you, your spouse or your or your spouse's authorized representative fails to furnish proof as required by us;
- the date your qualified child no longer qualifies as a dependent child for any reason except your death; or
- the end of the maximum benefit period.

#### WHAT ACCIDENTAL LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?

Your plan does not cover any accidental losses caused by, contributed to by, or resulting from:

- suicide, self destruction while sane, intentionally self-inflicted injury while sane, or self-inflicted injury while sane, or self-inflicted injury while insane.
- active participation in a riot.
- an attempt to commit or commission of a crime.
- the use of any prescription or non-prescription drug, poison, fume, or other chemical substance unless used according to the prescription or direction of your physician. This exclusion will not apply to you if the chemical substance is ethanol.
- disease of the body or diagnostic, medical or surgical treatment or mental disorder as set forth in the latest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.
- being intoxicated.
- war, declared or undeclared, or any act of war.

## ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE

## **OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES**

#### WHAT IF YOU ARE NOT IN ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT WHEN THE POLICYHOLDER CHANGES GROUP INSURANCE CARRIERS TO UNUM? (CONTINUITY OF COVERAGE)

Unum will provide coverage for you if you were covered by the prior policy on the day before the effective date of this policy, and if you would be eligible for coverage under this policy if you were in active employment on the effective date of this policy.

If you are on a covered layoff or leave of absence on the effective date of this policy, we will consider your layoff or leave of absence to have started on that date, and coverage for you under this provision will continue for the layoff or leave of absence period provided in this policy, or the layoff or leave of absence period remaining under the prior policy on the effective date of this policy, whichever period is shorter.

If you are absent from work due to injury or sickness on the effective date of this policy, then coverage under this provision will continue until the earliest of the date:

- you are no longer injured or sick,
- you return to active employment,
- you are approved for a disability extension of benefits or accrued liability under the prior policy, including premium waiver, or
- your employment ends.

Also, if you incur a covered loss but are not in active employment under this policy, any benefits payable under this policy will be limited to the amount that would have been paid by the prior carrier. Unum will reduce your payment by any amount for which the prior carrier is liable.

Coverage for you is subject to payment of required premium and all other terms of this policy, except that the portable insurance coverage terms of this policy will not apply to coverage provided under this provision.

#### WHAT COVERAGE IS AVAILABLE IF YOU END EMPLOYMENT OR YOU WORK REDUCED HOURS? (Portability)

If your employment ends with or you retire from your Employer or you are working less than the minimum number of hours as described under Eligible Groups in this plan, you may elect portable coverage for yourself.

#### PORTABLE INSURANCE COVERAGE AND AMOUNTS AVAILABLE

The portable insurance coverage will be the current coverage and amounts that you are insured for under your Employer's group plan.

However, the amount of portable coverage for you will not be more than:

- the highest amount of accidental death and dismemberment insurance available for employees under the plan; or
- 5x your annual earnings; or

- \$750,000 from all Unum group life and accidental death and dismemberment plans combined,

whichever is less.

The amount of ported life insurance must be equal to or greater than the amount of ported accidental death and dismemberment insurance.

The minimum amount of coverage that can be ported is \$5,000. If the current amounts under the plan are less than \$5,000, you may port the lesser amounts.

Your amount of AD&D insurance will reduce or cease at any time it would reduce or cease for your eligible group if you had continued in active employment with your Employer.

## APPLYING FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE

You must apply for portable coverage for yourself and pay the first premium within 31 days after the date:

- your coverage ends or you retire from your Employer; or
- you begin working less than the minimum number of hours as described under Eligible Groups in this plan.

You are not eligible to apply for portable coverage for yourself if:

- you have an **injury** or **sickness**, under the terms of this plan, which has a material effect on life expectancy; or
- you failed to pay the required premium under the terms of this plan.

## APPLYING FOR INCREASES OR DECREASES IN PORTABLE COVERAGE

You may increase or decrease the amount of AD&D insurance coverage. The minimum and maximum benefit amounts are shown above. However, the amount of accidental death and dismemberment insurance coverage cannot be decreased below \$5,000. Portable coverage will reduce at the ages and amounts shown in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE **"BENEFITS AT A GLANCE"** page.

#### WHEN PORTABLE COVERAGE ENDS

Portable coverage for you will end on the date you fail to pay any required premium.

If portable coverage ends due to failure to pay required premium, portable coverage cannot be reinstated.

#### PREMIUM RATE CHANGES FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE

Unum may change premium rates for portable coverage at any time for reasons which affect the risk assumed, including those reasons shown below:

- changes occur in the coverage levels;
- changes occur in the overall use of benefits by all insureds;
- changes occur in other risk factors; or

- a new law or a change in any existing law is enacted which applies to portable coverage.

The change in premium rates will be made on a class basis according to Unum's underwriting risk studies. Unum will notify the insured in writing at least 31 days before a premium rate is changed.

# GLOSSARY

**ACCIDENTAL BODILY INJURY** means bodily harm caused solely by external, violent and accidental means and not contributed to by any other cause.

ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT means the total benefit amount for which an employee is insured under this plan subject to the maximum benefit.

**ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT** means you are working for your Employer for earnings that are paid regularly and that you are performing the material and substantial duties of your regular occupation. You must be working at least the minimum number of hours as described under Eligible Group(s) in each plan.

Your work site must be:

- your Employer's usual place of business;
- an alternative work site at the direction of your Employer, including your home; or
- a location to which your job requires you to travel.

Normal vacation is considered active employment. Temporary and seasonal workers are excluded from coverage.

**ANNUAL EARNINGS** means your annual income received from your Employer as defined in the plan.

**ELIMINATION PERIOD** means a period of continuous disability which must be satisfied before you are eligible to have your life premium waived by Unum.

**EMPLOYEE** means a person who is in active employment in the United States with the Employer.

**EMPLOYER** means the Policyholder, and includes any division, subsidiary or affiliated company named in the policy.

**EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY** means a statement of your medical history which Unum will use to determine if you are approved for coverage. Evidence of insurability will be at Unum's expense.

**GAINFUL OCCUPATION** means an occupation that within 12 months of your return to work is or can be expected to provide you with an income that is at least equal to 60% of your annual earnings in effect just prior to the date your disability began.

**GRACE PERIOD** means the period of time following the premium due date during which premium payment may be made.

**HEMIPLEGIA** means total and irreversible paralysis of both limbs on either side of the body (i.e. the right arm and right leg or the left arm and left leg).

**HOSPITAL OR INSTITUTION** means an accredited facility licensed to provide care and treatment for the condition causing your disability.

**INJURY** means:

- for purposes of Portability, a bodily injury that is the direct result of an accident and not related to any other cause.
- for all other purposes, a bodily injury that is the direct result of an accident and not related to any other cause. Disability must begin while you are covered under the plan.

**INSURED** means any person covered under a plan.

**INTOXICATED** means that your blood alcohol level equals or exceeds the legal limit for operating a motor vehicle in the state where the accident occurred.

**LAYOFF** or **LEAVE OF ABSENCE** means you are temporarily absent from active employment for a period of time that has been agreed to in advance in writing by your Employer.

Your normal vacation time or any period of disability is not considered a temporary layoff or leave of absence.

**LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT** means the total benefit amount for which an employee is insured under this plan subject to the maximum benefit.

LOSS OF A FOOT means that all of the foot is cut off at or above the ankle joint.

**LOSS OF A HAND** means that all four fingers are cut off at or above the knuckles joining each to the hand.

LOSS OF HEARING means the total and irrecoverable loss of hearing in both ears.

**LOSS OF SIGHT** means the eye is totally blind and that no sight can be restored in that eye.

LOSS OF SPEECH means the total and irrecoverable loss of speech.

**LOSS OF THUMB AND INDEX FINGER** means that all of the thumb and index finger are cut off at or above the joint closest to the wrist.

**OCCUPATIONAL INJURY** means an injury that was caused by or aggravated by any employment for pay or profit or otherwise occurring within the course of employment.

**PARAPLEGIA** means total and irreversible paralysis of both lower limbs.

**PAYABLE CLAIM** means a claim for which Unum is liable under the terms of the policy.

#### PHYSICIAN means:

- a person performing tasks that are within the limits of his or her medical license; and
- a person who is licensed to practice medicine and prescribe and administer drugs or to perform surgery; or
- a person with a doctoral degree in Psychology (Ph.D. or Psy.D.) whose primary practice is treating patients; or
- a person who is a legally qualified medical practitioner according to the laws and regulations of the governing jurisdiction.

Unum will not recognize you, or your spouse, children, parents or siblings as a physician for a claim that you send to us.

PLAN means a line of coverage under the policy.

**POLICYHOLDER** means the Employer to whom the policy is issued.

**PRIVATE PASSENGER CAR** means a validly registered four-wheel private passenger car (including Employer-owned cars), station wagons, jeeps, pick-up trucks, and vans that are used only as private passenger cars.

**QUADRIPLEGIA** means total and irreversible paralysis of all four limbs.

**QUALIFIED CHILD** means:

- for purposes of the Education Benefit, any of your unmarried dependent children under age 25 who, on the date of your death as a result of an accidental bodily injury, was either:
  - enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited post-secondary institution of higher learning beyond the 12th grade level; or
  - at the 12th grade level and enrolls as a full-time student in an accredited postsecondary institution of higher learning beyond the 12th grade level within 365 days following the date of your death.
- for purposes of the Child Care Benefit, any of your unmarried dependent children under age 14 who, were enrolled in a licensed day care facility, school facility, or other similar program for 90 continuous days before the date of the accident causing your death. The Child Care Benefit will not be extended to any of your children born after the date of your death unless pregnancy commenced prior to the date of your death.

Children include your own natural offspring, lawfully adopted children and stepchildren. They also include foster children and other children who are dependent on you for main support and living with you in a regular parent-child relationship. A child will be considered adopted on the date of placement in your home.

#### **REGULAR CARE** means:

- you personally visit a physician as frequently as is medically required, according to generally accepted medical standards, to effectively manage and treat your disabling condition(s); and
- you are receiving the most appropriate treatment and care which conforms with generally accepted medical standards, for your disabling condition(s) by a physician whose specialty or experience is the most appropriate for your disabling condition(s), according to generally accepted medical standards.

# **RETAINED ASSET ACCOUNT:**

- **for Life Insurance**, is an interest bearing account established through an intermediary bank in the name of your beneficiary, as owner.
- for Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, is an interest bearing account established through an intermediary bank in the name of you or your beneficiary, as owner.

SICKNESS means:

- for purposes of Portability, an illness, disease or symptoms for which a person, in the exercise of ordinary prudence, would have consulted a health care provider.
- for all other purposes, an illness or disease. Disability must begin while you are covered under the plan.

**TRIPLEGIA** means total and irreversible paralysis of three limbs.

**UNIPLEGIA** means total and irreversible paralysis of one limb.

**WAITING PERIOD** means the continuous period of time (shown in each plan) that you must be in active employment in an eligible group before you are eligible for coverage under a plan.

WE, US and OUR means Unum Life Insurance Company of America.

**YOU** means an employee who is eligible for Unum coverage.

# GROUP LIFE

#### THE FOLLOWING NOTICES AND CHANGES TO YOUR COVERAGE ARE REQUIRED BY CERTAIN STATES. PLEASE READ CAREFULLY.

State variations apply and are subject to change. Consult your employer or plan administrator for the most current state provisions that may apply to you.

If you have a complaint about your insurance you may contact Unum at 1-800-321-3889, or the department of insurance in your state of residence. Links to the websites of each state department of insurance can be found at <u>www.naic.org</u>.

Si usted tiene alguna queja acerca de su seguro puede comunicarse con Unum al 1-800-321-3889, o al departamento de seguros de su estado de residencia. Puede encontrar enlaces a los sitios web de los departamentos de seguros de cada estado en <u>www.naic.org</u>.

If you had group life coverage in place with your employer through another carrier when your employer changed carriers to Unum, your prior coverage may be continued under the Unum plan to the extent the laws of your resident state require such right to continue.

The states of **Florida and Maryland** require us to advise residents of those states that if your Certificate was issued in a jurisdiction other than the state in which you reside, it may not provide all of the benefits required by the laws of your residence state.

Full effect will be given to your state's civil union, domestic partner and same sex marriage laws to the extent they apply to you under a group insurance policy issued in another state.

If you are a resident of one of the states noted below, and the provisions referenced below appear in your Certificate in a form less favorable to you as an insured, they are amended as follows:

#### For residents of Colorado:

The *HOW CAN STATEMENTS MADE IN YOUR APPLICATION FOR THIS COVERAGE BE USED?* provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended so that after your coverage has been in force for two (2) or more years your coverage may not be rescinded for any reason.

The *WHAT LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?* provision in the **Life Insurance Benefit Information** section of the policy is amended to limit the suicide exclusion to 12 months after the effective date of coverage or the date any increases or additional insurance becomes effective.

For residents of Connecticut:

The WHAT ACCIDENTAL LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN? provision in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended by deleting the exclusion for use of drugs, poisons, fumes or other chemical substances and amended to restate the crime or felony exclusion to read, "an attempt to commit or commission of a felony."

# For residents of Illinois:

The *WHAT LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?* provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended by removing the phrase "contributed to by."

The WHAT ACCIDENTAL LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN? provision in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended by removing the phrase "contributed to by" and by limiting the application of the drug and chemical substance exclusion to "voluntary" use of a prescription or non prescription drug, poison, fume or other chemical substance.

#### For residents of Louisiana:

The *HOW CAN STATEMENTS MADE IN YOUR APPLICATION FOR THIS COVERAGE BE USED?* provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended so that after your coverage has been in force for two (2) or more years your coverage may not be rescinded for any reason.

The **WHAT DEPENDENTS ARE ELIGIBLE FOR COVERAGE?** provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended by providing that unmarried dependent children may be covered from live birth until age 21 or such older age as stated in the policy.

#### For residents of Minnesota:

The **WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion Privilege)** provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended to include the additional right to continue coverage for up to 18 months at no more than 102% of the cost of your coverage under the group policy if your coverage terminates or you are laid off.

The **PORTABLE INSURANCE COVERAGE AND AMOUNTS AVAILABLE** provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy and the **ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy, if applicable, are amended to provide that you may continue your coverage in the amount you are insured for under the group policy. However, the amount of your ported life insurance must be equal to or greater than the amount of your ported accidental death and dismemberment insurance.

The **PREMIUM RATE CHANGES FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE** provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy and the **AD&D INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy, are amended to provide that Unum may not change rates until your or your dependents' ported coverage has been in effect for 18 months.

The WHAT HAPPENS IF Unum OVERPAYS YOUR CLAIM? in the LIFE INSURANCE CLAIM INFORMATION section of the policy and the HOW CAN STATEMENTS MADE IN YOUR APPLICATION FOR THIS COVERAGE BE USED? in the GENERAL **PROVISIONS** section of the policy are amended by deleting all references to fraud and the provision *HOW WILL Unum HANDLE INSURANCE FRAUD?* in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is removed.

## For residents of Montana:

The WHAT LIMITED CONVERSION IS AVAILABLE IF THE POLICY OR THE PLAN IS CANCELLED? (Conversion Privilege) provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended so that the period of time you must be insured under the plan is 3 years.

## For residents of New Hampshire:

The **WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion Privilege)** provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended to provide that your Employer must notify you of your right to convert your coverage. You have 15 days from the date your Employer notifies you of your conversion privileges to convert your coverage.

The *HOW CAN STATEMENTS MADE IN YOUR APPLICATION FOR THIS COVERAGE BE USED?* provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended so that after your coverage has been in force for two (2) or more years your coverage may not be rescinded for any reason.

#### For residents of New York:

The **APPLYING FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE** provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy and the **ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy is amended by removing the prohibition on porting coverage if you, your spouse or your dependent are injured or sick.

The WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion **Privilege**) provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy and **APPLYING FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE** provision in the LIFE **INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy and the **AD&D INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES** section of the policy, are amended to provide you have 90 days to convert or port your coverage from the date your life insurance terminates, or if the employer notifies you of your conversion or port rights within 90 days, 45 days from the date of that notice.

The **WHAT** SEATBELT(S) AND AIRBAG BENEFIT WILL Unum **PROVIDE?** provision in the **AD&D INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended by removing the requirement that the driver must have a valid driver's license.

The **WHAT ACCIDENTAL LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?** provision in the **AD&D INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended by removing the exclusion for being intoxicated.

#### For residents of North Carolina:

The *APPLYING FOR PORTABLE COVERAGE* provision in the LIFE INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES section of the policy and the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE OTHER BENEFIT FEATURES section of the policy is amended by removing the prohibition on porting coverage if you, your spouse or your dependent are injured or sick.

# For residents of North Dakota:

The **WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion Privilege)** provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended to provide that your Employer must notify you of your right to convert your coverage. You have 15 days from the date your Employer notifies you of your conversion privileges to convert your coverage.

The *WHAT LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?* provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended to limit the suicide exclusion to 12 months after the effective date of coverage.

The **SICKNESS** definition in the **GLOSSARY** section of the policy is amended to mean an illness or disease.

#### For residents of Oklahoma:

The *HOW CAN STATEMENTS MADE IN YOUR APPLICATION FOR THIS COVERAGE BE USED?* provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended so that after your coverage has been in force for two (2) or more years your coverage may not be rescinded for any reason.

The WHAT ACCIDENTAL LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN? provision in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended to limit the suicide and self inflicted injury exclusion to suicide while sane or insane.

#### For residents of Oregon:

The **WHAT LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?** provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended to provide that in the event of death by suicide during the suicide exclusion period, a refund of premiums will be made.

#### For residents of Pennsylvania:

The *WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion Privilege)* provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended to provide that your Employer must notify you of your right to convert your coverage. You have 15 days from the date your Employer notifies you of your conversion privileges to convert your coverage. In no event will the time allowed for you to exercise the life conversion privilege be extended beyond 90 days from the date your life insurance terminates.

The HOW MUCH WILL Unum PAY YOUR BENEFICIARY IN THE EVENT OF YOUR ACCIDENTAL DEATH OR YOU FOR YOUR DEPENDENT'S ACCIDENTAL DEATH OR FOR CERTAIN OTHER COVERED LOSSES? provision in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended by removing the requirement that for a claim to be payable, a death that results from an accidental bodily injury must occur within 365 days from the date of the accident.

## For residents of South Carolina:

The **WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion Privilege)** provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended to provide that your Employer must notify you of your right to convert your coverage. You have 15 days from the date your Employer notifies you of your conversion privileges to convert your coverage.

The **WHAT ARE THE TIME LIMITS FOR LEGAL PROCEEDINGS?** provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended to allow up to 6 years from the date proof of claim is required to start a legal action regarding your claim.

The war exclusion in the WHAT ACCIDENTAL LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN? provision in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended to read, "participation in a war, declared or undeclared, or any act of war."

#### For residents of South Dakota:

The WHAT LIMITED CONVERSION IS AVAILABLE IF THE SUMMARY OF BENEFITS OR THE PLAN IS CANCELLED? (Conversion Privilege) provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended by removing the \$10,000 limitation on the individual life policy maximum available.

The definition of **PHYSICIAN** in the **GLOSSARY** section of the policy is amended so that the limitation on the provision of physician services by family members reads as follows:

Unum will not recognize as a physician the claimant or any member of the claimant's family residing in the claimant's household.

The WHAT ACCIDENTAL LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN? provision in the ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended by deleting the exclusions for intoxication, operating a vehicle while intoxicated and use of a chemical substance.

#### For residents of Texas:

The **WHAT DEPENDENTS ARE ELIGIBLE FOR COVERAGE?** provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended by providing that unmarried dependent children may be covered until age 26 or such older age as stated in the policy regardless of student status.

#### For residents of Vermont:

If the policy is marketed in Vermont, the policyholder has a principal office or is organized in Vermont, or there are more than 25 Vermont residents insured under the policy:

The WHAT INSURANCE IS AVAILABLE WHEN COVERAGE ENDS? (Conversion **Privilege**) provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended to provide that your Employer must notify you of your right to convert

your coverage. You have 15 days from the date your Employer notifies you of your conversion privileges to convert your coverage. In addition, in no event will the time allowed for you to exercise the life conversion privilege be extended beyond 90 days from the date your life insurance terminates.

## For residents of Washington:

The **ACTIVE EMPLOYMENT** definition in the **GLOSSARY** section of the policy is amended to include the following:

A period of up to 6 months during which you are not working due to a strike, lockout or other labor dispute is considered active employment. Your employer may require you to pay premium during this period of time.

The WILL Unum ACCELERATE YOUR OR YOUR DEPENDENT'S DEATH BENEFIT FOR THE PLAN IF YOU OR YOUR DEPENDENT BECOMES TERMINALLY ILL? (Accelerated Benefit) in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended by changing the life expectancy requirement to 24 months or less, or such longer period as stated in the policy.

The *WHAT LOSSES ARE NOT COVERED UNDER YOUR PLAN?* provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended to remove any exclusion for death caused by suicide.

#### For residents of West Virginia:

The WHAT LIMITED CONVERSION IS AVAILABLE IF THE POLICY OR THE PLAN IS CANCELLED? (Conversion Privilege) provision in the LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION section of the policy is amended so that the period of time you must be insured under the plan is 3 years.

#### For residents of Wisconsin:

The *HOW CAN STATEMENTS MADE IN YOUR APPLICATION FOR THIS COVERAGE BE USED?* provision in the **GENERAL PROVISIONS** section of the policy is amended so that after your coverage has been in force for two (2) or more years your coverage may not be rescinded for any reason.

The **WHEN WILL YOUR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM WAIVER BEGIN?** provision in the **LIFE INSURANCE BENEFIT INFORMATION** section of the policy is amended to provide that once your waiver claim is approved, premium waiver is retroactive to the end of the elimination period.

#### Additional Claim and Appeal Information Relative to policy issued by Unum Life Insurance Company of America ("Unum")

#### APPLICABILITY OF ERISA

If the policy provides benefits under a Plan which is subject to the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), the following provisions apply. Whether a Plan is governed by ERISA is determined by a court, however, your Employer may have information related to ERISA applicability. If ERISA applies, the following items constitute the Plan: the additional information contained in this document, the policy, including your certificate of coverage, and any additional summary plan description information provided by the Plan Administrator. Benefit determinations are controlled exclusively by the policy, your certificate of coverage, and the information in this document.

#### HOW TO FILE A CLAIM

If you wish to file a claim for benefits, you should follow the claim procedures described in your insurance certificate. To complete your claim filing, Unum must receive the claim information it requests from you (or your authorized representative), your attending physician and your Employer. If you or your authorized representative has any questions about what to do, you or your authorized representative should contact Unum directly.

## CLAIMS PROCEDURES

# If a claim is based on death, a covered loss not based on disability or for the Education Benefit

In the event that your claim is denied, either in full or in part, Unum will notify you in writing within 90 days after your claim was filed. Under special circumstances, Unum is allowed an additional period of not more than 90 days (180 days in total) within which to notify you of its decision. If such an extension is required, you will receive a written notice from Unum indicating the reason for the delay and the date you may expect a final decision. Unum's notice of denial shall include:

- the specific reason or reasons for denial with reference to those Plan provisions on which the denial is based;
- a description of any additional material or information necessary to complete the claim and why that material or information is necessary; and
- a description of the Plan's procedures and applicable time limits for appealing the determination, including a statement of your right to bring a lawsuit under Section 502(a) of ERISA following an adverse determination from Unum on appeal.

Notice of the determination may be provided in written or electronic form. Electronic notices will be provided in a form that complies with any applicable legal requirements.

#### If a claim is based on your disability

Unum will give you notice of the decision no later than 45 days after the claim is filed. This time period may be extended twice by 30 days if Unum both determines that such an extension is necessary due to matters beyond the control of the Plan

and notifies you of the circumstances requiring the extension of time and the date by which Unum expects to render a decision. If such an extension is necessary due to your failure to submit the information necessary to decide the claim, the notice of extension will specifically describe the required information, and you will be afforded at least 45 days within which to provide the specified information. If you deliver the requested information within the time specified, any 30 day extension period will begin after you have provided that information. If you fail to deliver the requested information within the time specified, Unum may decide your claim without that information.

If your claim for benefits is wholly or partially denied, the notice of adverse benefit determination under the Plan will:

- state the specific reason(s) for the determination;
- reference specific Plan provision(s) on which the determination is based;
- describe additional material or information necessary to complete the claim and why such information is necessary;
- describe Plan procedures and time limits for appealing the determination, and your right to obtain information about those procedures and the right to bring a lawsuit under Section 502(a) of ERISA following an adverse determination from Unum on appeal; and
- disclose any internal rule, guidelines, protocol or similar criterion relied on in making the adverse determination (or state that such information will be provided free of charge upon request).

Notice of the determination may be provided in written or electronic form. Electronic notices will be provided in a form that complies with any applicable legal requirements.

# APPEAL PROCEDURES

# If an appeal is based on death, a covered loss not based on disability or for the Education Benefit

If you or your authorized representative appeal a denied claim, it must be submitted within 90 days after you receive Unum's notice of denial. You have the right to:

- submit a request for review, in writing, to Unum;
- upon request and free of charge, reasonable access to and copies of, all relevant documents as defined by applicable U.S. Department of Labor regulations; and
- submit written comments, documents, records and other information relating to the claim to Unum.

Unum will make a full and fair review of the claim and all new information submitted whether or not presented or available at the initial determination, and may require additional documents as it deems necessary or desirable in making such a review. A final decision on the review shall be made not later than 60 days following receipt of the written request for review. If special circumstances require an extension of time for processing, you will be notified of the reasons for the extension and the date by which the Plan expects to make a decision. If an extension is required due to your failure to submit the information necessary to decide the claim, the notice of extension will specifically describe the necessary information and the date by which you need to provide it to us. The 60-day extension of the appeal review period will begin after you have provided that information.

The final decision on review shall be furnished in writing and shall include the reasons for the decision with reference, again, to those policy provisions upon which the final decision is based. It will also include a statement describing your right to access to documents and describing your right to bring a lawsuit under Section 502(a) of ERISA if you disagree with the determination.

Notice of the determination may be provided in written or electronic form. Electronic notices will be provided in a form that complies with any applicable legal requirements.

Unless there are special circumstances, this administrative appeal process must be completed before you begin any legal action regarding your claim.

#### If an appeal is based on your disability

You have 180 days from the receipt of notice of an adverse benefit determination to file an appeal. Requests for appeals should be sent to the address specified in the claim denial. A decision on review will be made not later than 45 days following receipt of the written request for review. If Unum determines that special circumstances require an extension of time for a decision on review, the review period may be extended by an additional 45 days (90 days in total). Unum will notify you in writing if an additional 45 day extension is needed.

If an extension is necessary due to your failure to submit the information necessary to decide the appeal, the notice of extension will specifically describe the required information, and you will be afforded at least 45 days to provide the specified information. If you deliver the requested information within the time specified, the 45 day extension of the appeal period will begin after you have provided that information. If you fail to deliver the requested information within the time specified, Unum may decide your appeal without that information.

You will have the opportunity to submit written comments, documents, or other information in support of your appeal. You will have access to all relevant documents as defined by applicable U.S. Department of Labor regulations. The review of the adverse benefit determination will take into account all new information, whether or not presented or available at the initial determination. No deference will be afforded to the initial determination.

The review will be conducted by Unum and will be made by a person different from the person who made the initial determination and such person will not be the original decision maker's subordinate. In the case of a claim denied on the grounds of a medical judgment, Unum will consult with a health professional with appropriate training and experience. The health care professional who is consulted on appeal will not be the individual who was consulted during the initial determination or a subordinate. If the advice of a medical or vocational expert was obtained by the Plan in connection with the denial of your claim, Unum will provide you with the names of each such expert, regardless of whether the advice was relied upon.

A notice that your request on appeal is denied will contain the following information:

- the specific reason(s) for the determination;
- a reference to the specific Plan provision(s) on which the determination is based;
- a statement disclosing any internal rule, guidelines, protocol or similar criterion relied on in making the adverse determination (or a statement that such information will be provided free of charge upon request);
- a statement describing your right to bring a lawsuit under Section 502(a) of ERISA if you disagree with the decision;
- the statement that you are entitled to receive upon request, and without charge, reasonable access to or copies of all documents, records or other information relevant to the determination; and
- the statement that "You or your Plan may have other voluntary alternative dispute resolution options, such as mediation. One way to find out what may be available is to contact your local U.S. Department of Labor Office and your State insurance regulatory agency".

Notice of the determination may be provided in written or electronic form. Electronic notices will be provided in a form that complies with any applicable legal requirements.

Unless there are special circumstances, this administrative appeal process must be completed before you begin any legal action regarding your claim.

#### Addendum to the "Additional Summary Plan Description Information" included with your certificate of coverage or policy and effective for claims filed on or after April 1, 2018.

The regulations governing ERISA disability claims and appeals have been amended. The amended regulations apply to disability claims filed on or after April 1, 2018. To the extent the Additional Summary Plan Description Information included with your certificate of coverage or policy conflicts with these new requirements, these new rights and procedures will apply.

These new rights and procedures include:

Any cancellation or discontinuance of your disability coverage that has a retroactive effect will be treated as an adverse benefit determination, except in the case of failure to timely pay required premiums or contributions toward the cost of coverage.

If you live in a county with a significant population of non-English speaking persons, the plan will provide, in the non-English language(s), a statement of how to access oral and written language services in those languages.

For any adverse benefit determination, you will be provided with an explanation of the basis for disagreeing or not following the views of: (1) health care professionals who have treated you or vocational professionals who have evaluated you; (2) the advice of medical or vocational professionals obtained on behalf of the plan; and (3) any disability determination made by the Social Security Administration regarding you and presented to the plan by you.

For any adverse benefit determination, you will be given either the specific internal rules, guidelines, protocols, standards or other similar criteria of the plan relied upon in making that decision, or a statement that such rules, etc. do not exist.

Prior to a final decision being made on an appeal, you will have the opportunity to review and respond to any new or additional rationale or evidence considered, relied upon, or generated by the plan in connection with your claim.

If an adverse benefit determination is upheld on appeal, you will be given notice of any applicable contractual limitations period that applies to your right to bring legal proceedings and the calendar date on which that period expires.

Should the plan fail to establish or follow ERISA required disability claims procedures, you may be entitled to pursue legal remedies under section 502(a) of the Act without exhausting your administrative remedies, as more completely set forth in section 503-1(l).

# **Privacy Notice**

This Privacy Notice applies to Unum Group's United States insurance operations and is being provided on behalf of its affiliates listed below ("Unum" "we"), as required by the Gramm-Leach Bliley Act and state insurance laws. This Notice describes how we collect, share, and protect nonpublic personal information (NPI).

#### **COLLECTING INFORMATION**

We collect NPI about our customers to provide them with insurance products and services, perform underwriting, provide stop loss coverage, and administer claims. The types of NPI we collect for these purposes may include telephone number, address, Social Security number, date of birth, occupation, income, and medical history, including treatment. We may receive NPI from your applications and forms, medical providers, other insurers, employers, insurance support organizations and service providers.

#### SHARING INFORMATION

We share the types of NPI described above primarily with people who perform insurance, business and professional services for us, such as helping us perform underwriting, provide stop loss coverage, pay claims, detect fraud, and to provide reinsurance or auditing. We may share NPI with medical providers for insurance and treatment purposes and with insurance support organizations. The organizations may retain the NPI and disclose it to others for whom it performs services. In certain cases, we may share NPI with group policyholders for reporting and auditing purposes, with parties for a proposed or final sale of insurance business or for study purposes. We may also share NPI when otherwise required or permitted by law, such as sharing with governmental or other legal authorities. When legally necessary, we ask your permission before sharing NPI about you. Our practices apply to our former, current and future customers.

We do not share your health NPI to market any product or service. We also do not share any NPI to market non-financial products and services.

The law allows us to share NPI as described above (except health information) with affiliates to market financial products and services. The law does not allow you to restrict these disclosures. We may also share with companies that help us market our insurance products and services, such as vendors that provide mailing services to us. We may share with other financial institutions to jointly market financial products and services. When required by law, we ask your permission before we share NPI for marketing purposes.

When other companies help us conduct business, we expect them to follow applicable privacy laws. We do not authorize them to use or share NPI except when necessary to conduct the work they are performing for us or to meet regulatory or other governmental requirements.

Unum companies, including insurers and insurance service providers, may share NPI about you with each other. The NPI might not be directly related to our transaction or experience with you. It may include financial or other personal information such as employment history. Consistent with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, we ask your permission before sharing NPI that is not directly related to our transaction or experience with you.

#### SAFEGUARDING INFORMATION

We have physical, electronic and procedural safeguards that protect the confidentiality and security of NPI. We give access only to employees who need to know the NPI to provide insurance products or services to you.

#### ACCESS TO INFORMATION

You may request access to certain NPI we collect to provide you with insurance products and services. You must make your request in writing, providing your full name, address, telephone number and policy number, to the address below. We will reply within 30 business days of receipt. If you request, we will send copies of the NPI to you or make available to you at our office. If the NPI includes health information, we may provide the health information to you

through a health care provider you designate. We will also send you information related to disclosures. We may charge a reasonable fee to cover our copying costs.

This section applies to NPI we collect to provide you with coverage. It does not apply to NPI we collect in anticipation of a claim or civil or criminal proceeding.

#### **CORRECTION OF INFORMATION**

If you believe the NPI we have about you is incorrect, please write to us and include your full name, address, telephone number and policy number if we have issued a policy, and the reason you believe the NPI is inaccurate. We will reply within 30 business days of receipt. If we agree with you, we will correct the NPI and notify you and insurance support organizations that may have received NPI from us in the preceding 7 years. We will also, if you ask, notify any person who may have received the incorrect NPI from us in the past 2 years.

If we disagree with you, we will tell you we are not going to make the correction and the reason(s) for our refusal. We will also tell you that you may submit a statement to us. Your statement should include the NPI you believe is correct and the reason(s) why you disagree with our decision not to correct the NPI in our files. We will file your statement with the disputed NPI to be accessible. We will include your statement any time the disputed NPI is reviewed or disclosed. We will also give the statement to insurance support organizations that gave us NPI and to any person designated by you, if we disclosed the disputed NPI to that person in the past two years.

#### COVERAGE DECISIONS

If we decide not to issue coverage to you, we will provide you with the specific reason(s) for our decision. We will also tell you how to access and correct certain NPI. You may submit a written request for the reason(s) for our decision within 90 business days of our decision. We will reply within 21 business days of receipt with the specific reasons, if not initially furnished, and specific items of information that supported our decision.

#### **CONTACTING US**

For additional information about Unum's commitment to privacy and to view a copy of our HIPAA Privacy Notice, please visit: unum.com/privacy or coloniallife.com. You may also write to: Privacy Officer, Unum, 2211 Congress Street, B267, Portland, Maine 04122 or at Privacy@unum.com.

We reserve the right to modify this notice. We will provide you with a new notice if we make material changes to our privacy practices.

Unum is providing this notice to you on behalf of the following insuring companies: Unum Life Insurance Company of America, Unum Insurance Company, First Unum Life Insurance Company, Provident Life and Accident Insurance Company, Provident Life and Casualty Insurance Company, Colonial Life & Accident Insurance Company, The Paul Revere Life Insurance Company and Starmount Life Insurance Company.

2020 Unum Group. All rights reserved. Unum is a registered trademark and marketing brand of Unum Group and its insuring subsidiaries.

unum.com MK-1883 (06-2020)

#### Summary Concerning Coverage, Limitations, and Exclusions under the Alaska Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association Act

A resident of Alaska who purchases life insurance, annuities, or accident and health insurance should know that an insurance company licensed in this state to write these types of insurance is a member of the Alaska Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association. The purpose of this association is to assure that a policyholder will be protected within statutory limits if a member insurer becomes financially unable to meet its obligations. If this should happen, the guaranty association will assess its other member insurance companies for the money to pay the claims of insured persons who live in this state, and in some cases, to keep coverage in force. However, the valuable extra protection provided by these insurers through the guaranty association is not unlimited. This protection is not a substitute for your care in selecting a company that is well managed and financially stable.

The state law that provides for this safety net coverage is called the Alaska Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association Act. The full text of the act can be found in AS 21.79.010 - 21.79.990. Provided below is a brief summary of this law's coverages, exclusions, and limits. This summary does not cover all provisions of the law, nor does it in any way change your rights or obligations under the act or the rights or obligations of the guaranty association.

# COVERAGE

Generally, an individual will be protected by the life and health insurance guaranty association if the individual lives in Alaska and holds a life or health insurance contract or annuity contract, or if the insured is insured under a group insurance contract issued by a member insurer. The beneficiary, payee, or assignee of an insured person is protected as well, even if a non-resident of Alaska.

# EXCLUSIONS FROM COVERAGE

The association does not protect a person holding a policy if:

- the individual is eligible for protection under the laws of another state (this may occur when the insolvent insurer was incorporated in another state whose guaranty association protects insureds who live outside that state);
- the insurer was not authorized to do business in this state; or
- the policy is issued by an organization that is not a member of the Alaska Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association.

The association does not provide coverage for:

- a policy or portion of a policy which is not guaranteed by the insurer or for which the individual has assumed the risk, such as a variable contract sold by prospectus;
- a policy of reinsurance (unless an assumption certificate was issued);
- an interest rate yield that exceeds an average rate;
- a dividend;
- a credit given in connection with the administration of a policy by a group contract holder;
- an employer's plan to the extent that it is self-funded (that is, not insured by an insurance company, even if an insurance company administers the plan);

- an unallocated annuity contract issued to an employee benefit plan protected under the United States Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation;
- that part of an unallocated annuity contract not issued to a specific employee, union, association of natural persons benefit plan, or a government lottery;
- any portion of a policy or contract to the extent that the required assessments are preempted by federal or state law;
- an obligation that does not arise under the express written terms of the policy or contract issued by the insurer;
- certain obligations to provide a book value accounting guaranty for defined contribution benefit plan participants; or
- that part of a policy or contract that provides for interest or other changes in value to be determined by the use of an index or other external reference stated in the policy or contract.

# LIMITS ON AMOUNT OF COVERAGE

The act also limits the amount the association is obligated to pay. The association cannot pay more than what the insurance company would owe under a policy or contract. Also, for any one insured life, no matter how many policies or contracts were issued by the same company, even if such contracts provided different types of coverages, the association will pay a maximum of:

- \$300,000 in net life insurance death benefits and no more than \$100,000 in net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values for life insurance;
- for health insurance benefits, \$100,000 for coverages not defined as disability income, health benefit plans or long-term care insurance, including any net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values;
- \$300,000 for disability income insurance and long-term care insurance;
- \$500,000 for health benefit plans;
- \$250,000 in the present value of annuity benefits, including net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal value;
- with respect to a structured settlement annuity, \$250,000 in present value annuity benefits, in the aggregate, including net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values;
- \$250,000 in the aggregate, of present-value annuity benefits, including net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values with respect to an individual participating in a governmental retirement plan established under 26 U.S.C. 401, 26 U.S.C. 403(b), or 26 U.S.C. 457 and covered by an unallocated annuity contract, or to a beneficiary of the individual if the individual is deceased; or
- \$5,000,000 in unallocated annuity contract benefits, irrespective of the number of contracts held by that contract holder, with respect to any one contract holder or plan sponsor whose plan owns, directly or in trust, one or more unallocated annuity contracts.

Note to benefit plan trustees or other holders of unallocated annuities (GICs, DA Cs, etc.) covered by the act: for unallocated annuities that fund governmental retirement plans under sections 401(k), 403(b), or 457 of the Internal Revenue Code, the limit is \$250,000 in present value of annuity benefits including net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal per participating individual. In no event shall the association be liable to spend more than \$300,000 in the aggregate per individual. For covered unallocated annuities that fund other plans, a special limit of \$5,000,000 applies to each contract holder, regardless of the number of contracts held with the same company or number of persons covered. In all cases the contract limits also apply.

# COMPLAINTS AND COMPANY FINANCIAL INFORMATION

A written complaint to allege violation of any provision of the Alaska Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association Act must be filed with the Division of Insurance, 550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1560, Anchorage, Alaska, 99501-3567; telephone (907) 269-7900. Financial information for an insurance company, if the insurance information is not proprietary, is available at the same address and telephone number. The guaranty association should not be contacted regarding the financial information of an insurance company.

The association is not an agency of the State of Alaska nor are there any guarantees by the State of Alaska regarding the payment of claims by the association. The guaranty association is not your insurance company.

Alaska Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association P.O. Box 220207 Anchorage, Alaska 99522-0207 (907) 243-2311

Division of Insurance 550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1560 Anchorage, Alaska 99501-3567 (907) 269-7900